Malteaser and baileys cheesecake!

20130901-144727.jpg

This is my home made baileys and malteaser cheesecake 🙂 I love making cheesecake – it’s simple, fun and so tasty. This is for after a BBQ today – it’s perfect as it can be made in advance too so no rushing around one everyone arrives! The reason I enjoy making it so much is that nothing has to be too exact – a little more or less cream/ cream cheese /icing sugar won’t affect the end result at all, and once the basic recipe is there, you can flavour it however you fancy! I’ve made a mint chocolate one, a Turkish delight one and a lemon one on other occasions and all have tasted lovely.

I prefer a hobnob base as I find it adds more crunch and texture, but as an alternative digestives or even ginger biscuits or Oreos could be used.

Basically, just experiment and see what works for you.

Here’s the ingredients and recipe I used:

Recipe

300 grams hobnob biscuits
140grams butter
200 grams philedelphia cream cheese (original not light)
60grams icing sugar
A generous splash of baileys (use according to preference 🙂
A small box of malteasers (or more if you want more malteasers in it!)
250mls double cream

1.Line a 20cm springform tin with greaseproof paper, and grease the edges ( I use lard).

2. crush the hobnob biscuits with the end of a rolling pin, until they are mostly crumbs. Add softened butter, mix together. Add to the tin, patting down firmly and creating a ridge around the outside of the tin. I like quite a deep base and so do use quite a lot of biscuits for this part of the recipe! Put this int the fridge while the next steps are followed.

3. In a bowl, mix the cream cheese and icing sugar until they blend together.

4. In another bowl, add all but 12 malteasers and crush them gently (I again used the end of a rolling pin.) add the baileys to the crushed malteasers, to taste. I didn’t measure how much I used, but added quite a generous amount, enough to moisten the malteasers. Mix together and add to the cream cheese mixture.

5. In the now empty bowl, add 250 ml double cream and whisk lightly until firm, then add this to the rest of the ingredients. Mix it all together.

6. Spoon the mixture onto the base – flatten as best you can with a spatula or spoon. Put in the fridge overnight.

7. The next day, I take the sides from the tin and slice my cheesecake up (you can either do 8/12 slices depending on how generous you want t be!) then I add a malteaser to each slice, and dust with edible silver litter using a tea strainer (this is optional – cocoa powder could be used instead if preferred).

8 serve and enjoy 🙂

3 responses to “Malteaser and baileys cheesecake!

  1. Looks great. I like the little malt balls on it.

Leave a Reply

