Fake away – puff pastry pizza

20131029-085402.jpg

I haven’t done a recipe post for a whole, so I wanted to blog about one of our favourites for our Friday not film night. On a Friday I do an easier tea – usually something like hot dogs or pizza. But. Hate buying the frozen pizzas as they’re so unhealthy, and so i make my own. It’s still not healthy (or anywhere near!) but it does have a load of veg hidden in the sauce and in the topping which balances it out a bit at least.

I buy a puff pastry block of pastry (they’re roughly £1.25 and can make two pizzas. Or if you’re really lazy the ready to roll puff pastry makes less, but is easy to just unroll on a baking tray and top. Puff pastry can also be frozen, so if you have too much just cut the block up and freeze the extra. I actually have some other recipe ideas that I want to try with puff pastry as its so versatile, which I will blog another time 🙂

Then. Make my sauce. For mine I chop up onions, mushrooms, peppers and corgette. Fry off all the veg, add passata and whatever you like to flavour it (I use tomato puree, garlic, basil, oregano, brown sauce, Worcester sauce, soy sauce, salt). Let it simmer for about 15 minutes, then leave to cool. When cool, blend up (I use a hand blender) and its ready. I make double, so It lasts a couple of weeks, and I freeze the other half.

Then the toppings. I usually use pepperoni but this isn’t necessary if trying to make it cheaper! And veggies – peppers, mushrooms, red onion, corgette. I chop a load and let my daughter decorate it all – she helps with it all, but likes this bit the best! Then add mozzerella to on top, either greater or just rip the balls up.

Pop it in the oven, leave it for 20 minutes and its done. It’s gorgeous – the puff pastry makes it really nice and textured on the base. It costs more than just buying a cheap frozen pizza, but its so much nicer, and slightly healthier!

Let me know if you try it:)

Xx

One response to “Fake away – puff pastry pizza

Leave a Reply

