B is for baking…

20131128-112132.jpg

Yesterday I had some mince to use, so i decide to make a savory mince pie. this is a recipe i have copied for my mum and its gorgeous, simple and lasts us for tea and the next days lunch. I’m sure it won’t be something everyone will enjoy, but we have mince quite often and so this just suits us to make with any leftover mince.

This pie is so easy to make and I think it tastes lovely. It’s home made – I made the pastry the night before and left it in the fridge overnight as I find the result works better. Then I blind bake the pastry and while its cooking make the filling, and for this I then let the pastry and base cool (as I had to go out!) and finished it later. I don’t know why but this was the best pie I’ve made, I think for this reason!

So, to make:

Pastry (I always use the recipe from the bi-ro book) but it’a also online here. You could buy shop bought shortcrust too if you just don’t have time or don’t want to make it. The basic recipe for pastry is:
8oz self raising flour.
A pinch of salt
2oz lard
2oz margarine (I use stork)
Enough water to bind.

1. All you do is mix all of the ingredients together – flour and salt, rub in the lard and margarine and add water to bind. Don’t make it too sticky though, if this happens add more flour. I do tend to wash my hands in cold water before handling the pastry, as I always heard that cold hands are better. Don’t know if its true but my pastry is always fine.
2. I put it in the fridge In cling film overnight as it seems to work better, but it will be okay to use straight away too.
3. When ready, flour a surface and roll out to whatever size you need. I use a silicone circular dish but I’ve made it on a rimmed plate before with no problems too. Grease the tray if needed, then add the pastry into the tray. Make sure you have extra left for the top though!
4. Place greaseproof paper over the pastry and add baking beans then cook at about 150 degrees for about 20 minutes. I used to ignore this stop but that does mean a soggy bottom!
5. While pastry is blind baking, make filling (see below)
6. Take out of oven and remove baking beads and greaseproof paper.

Filling
1. Fry mince with one red onion, a few mushrooms, sweet corn and peas (I use frozen)
2. When cooked, add flavour. For this pie I used the quick method and made up beef gravy granules with hot water, making it quite thick, then poured it into the mince mixture.
3. Let cool slightly then add to pastry base.

4. Finally, just roll out and add the top, brush with a bit of beaten egg, and cook for between 30-45 minutes.

Serve and enjoy 🙂

One response to “B is for baking…

  1. It looks simple, but delicious! Thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

