Festive Friday

20131129-110039.jpg

Last week I joined in with the festive Friday linky. The badge is at the bottom of the page if you want to join in 🙂

This week we’ve made home made Xmas tree decorations. It’s been loads of fun – so much better than buying them and I’m so excited to decorate our tree with our home made bits and bobs 🙂 Each year we add a few more home made things to the tree and its lovely to have all the memories, and I look forward to getting these things out each year to look at – I’m already excited about looking at last years bits from the attic, but these were just made out of card!

So, to this year. I found a recipe for salt dough at red ted art and got excited by the idea of it. It’s easy to make and just used plain flour (one cup) salt (half a cup) and water just until binded together. Then it was baked for 2 hours at 100 degrees – really simple. Skewer a hole before baking though as its too hard to do afterwards, to thread ribbon or string through when done!

Then we got Paint and glitter glue out, and I just let Amelia do what she wanted. It was her idea to get the sequins out to decorate them too, and I think those ones look really good (even if they do keep falling off them!) I got just as much into making these as Amelia did, and I have some salt dough still in the fridge as I didn’t use it all so that I could see how the decorations turned out, and I’m thinking of making some bits on my own one night – is that a bit geeky?!

This activity has really inspired me and given me so many ideas – little Xmas gifts for family of the girls hand prints, some kind of garland decoration with some different shapes, could do all sorts!

The other thing we’ve done is decorate some pine cones. A bit of glue and glitter and they look beautiful – better in real life that the photo below shows too. I’m really pleased with them, and they cost almost nothing.

Xxx

Festive Friday at Thinly Spread

20131129-152643.jpg

Leave a Reply

