Siblings

20140110-214550.jpg

I’ve seen a few blog posts today, started by mummydaddyme . The Linky is about capturing a photograph of siblings together once a month, to capture their relationship over time. I looked through my photos, and realised that i actually have very few of my two girls together (mainly because of the difficulties in getting two children to stay still, and in trying to make sure Amelia doesn’t hug Rosie really hard, making her cry. So, I decided that this might be a perfect linky for me to try to make more effort to get pictures of them together on a more regular basis. Photos like this will be ones I can treasure always, as I watch the relationship between them develop and change.

My girls do have a wonderful relationship. Since the first time Amelia met Rosie, she has completely accepted her into our family, she tries very hard to make her happy by giving her toys / hugs and sharing her food when I let her. She loves her and has never once showed signs of jealousy. At times Amelia is a difficult child – she’s very demanding, stubborn, argumentative and grumpy with people. But, she’s never that way with Rosie, and she takes a lot of pride in her role as big sister.

Rosie also adores Amelia. I think that she is a little wary at times – Amelia can be loud and full on. But Rosie smiles a huge smile when Amelia comes in from nursery, and they play a lovely game of peekaboo – Amelia hides then jumps out and shouts boo, and this makes Rosie really really laugh. It’s obvious that she loves her big sister, although she’s too young to really know what this means.

So I’ve put a couple of pictures n to start. the picture at the top is from when Rosie was first born, taken the first time Amelia met and held Rosie, the day she came home. Then underneath I’ve added a couple of more recent pictures. One was taken at lunchtime today – Rosie had just finished her lunch, and Amelia perched on her walker next to her to hug and talk to her, and I managed to capture a few shots of them. I like the interaction between them, and the other photo of Amelia hugging Rosie.

20140110-211913.jpg

20140110-214608.jpg

11 responses to “Siblings

  1. Very cute ๐Ÿ™‚ hope you’ll join in every month?!

  2. Ahhhhhh! This linky is giving me the warm fuzzies it really is. So much sibling love x

  3. What adorable photos – those first moments together are so precious aren’t they

  4. Oooooh, so cute photos of your girls. How gorgeous are they? So glad you’re going to join in with the linky, it’s so nice to have an excuse to photograph the children together. Thanks for linking up. x

    • I am biased but they are gorgeous girls. I also love looking at everyone else’s photos too – there is something lovely about seeing siblings together. Thank you for the comment, and I look forward to linking up again next month xx

  5. Beautiful photos of them both, I love the first one, big sister looks so caring and kind with her little sister! x

  6. Cute pics! The first one is just precious. Looks like your older daughter is a really good big sister. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

