The ordinary moments

20140117-215336.jpg

Photographs are amazing. They capture a moment in time, that can never be seen again. They are a way of seeing our babies grow up, change and develop. They capture memories and moments.

But they can’t explain the feelings of a moment to another. These photos are not the best photos ever taken, because my children move too fast, and blur when I attempt to get a photo. They don’t pose, and sometimes a moment is over before I am able to ‘capture’ it properly. I wish I could capture every second, but I can’t.

Today my ordinary moment post is a simple one. Amelia got a small craft box for Christmas. In it are a few craft bits, such as Pom poms, lolly sticks, glue and glitter. In the photographs Amelia got her craft box out by herself to make Christmas decorations ‘for the Christmas tree.’ Never mind that its down now and Christmas is over. She glued, glittered and made her decorations.

In the meantime, Rosie decided that the craft box looked interesting and she wanted to play too. She made it her mission to get to it to see inside. She wriggled to it, looked inside it and then tipped everything out into the floor. Amelia got a bit cross. I moved Rosie onto my knee and we watched Amelia, while she carefully made her decorations. I may have made one too.

It was a lovely moment – Craig was off work and so at home with us. It was just us being a family. Amelia uses her craft box a lot – it’s the first time she’s set up craft to do herself – I watch and help a little, but it’s her choice about when to craft and what she wants to make. I like watching her work with such concentration, I like seeing how she is becoming more independent, growing up.

So my photographs aren’t the best. I wish they were better. But what’s important is that we had that moment together, and others similar to this moment but slightly different. This for me is an ordinary moment, but one which makes me smile, and one which I want to remember always.

If you would also like to join in please go to the link above. It’s a great linky, about capturing the everyday, ordinary moments which are really the most special times of all.

Xxx

20140117-215658.jpg

12 responses to “The ordinary moments

  1. The baby ALWAYS wants what the bigger sis/bro wants don’t they!! 😉

  2. You make crafting sound so serene and peaceful. Almost inspiring me to get out the glitter and glue myself!

  3. I love the concentration on her face! And that she took it upon herself to make something… and how organised of her to start Christmas crafting in January! I could learn a thing or two from that! 😉

  4. This is so lovely, your words are gorgeous. I love the quote too! I can’t wait to do more crafts with both my girls, although at the moment whenever we try LL just wants to eat everything! X

  5. Ahhh this has made me a little bit gooey its a lovely post! A family moment where everyone is happy (however long it lasts!) has truly become my favourite thing in life.
    I can totally relate to the photograph thing, I would love to be better (and to have an SLR)!

  6. It will be lovely when Rosie can join in properly! I cannot wait for LP to be able to do crafts. So far we are at the basic playdoh stage! x

Leave a Reply

