Healthy for life.

Last week I blogged about healthy eating (post here!). I thought I’d do an update about porridge on Tuesday, and how I’m doing in my journey to have a healthier lifestyle.

I struggle to blog about my feeling on losing weight on my blog – I don’t know why, I don’t have problem talking about most things! I guess it’s because I don’t want anyone to think that I’m unhappy with myself. I’m not – I’ve always felt fine in my own skin, and I’ve never worried about what others think of me. I can only ever be myself.

However, I always feel best when I make time for exercise, and when I eat more healthily. For me, the two are linked. If I don’t exercise, I struggle to make consistent healthy options. Not meal wise, but more in terms of snacks and extras. It’s easy to have peanut butter on my toast every morning, crisps or a cake with dinner, a few cups of tea with sugar, and a couple of biscuits at night. Add this to ‘film night tea’ (pizza or hotdogs and microwave popcorn) and the occasional glass of wine, and it adds up. And I find that the more I eat the more I want to eat. And the less I want to exercise. It becomes a bit of a vicious circle.

Since new year though I’ve been signed up to porridge on Tuesday. I’ve tried really hard to think more about my meals, and having a way to track it all makes it easier. I have a long term goal, and it’s broken down into a graph to track progress. I really like it. I’ve not followed the plan exactly, but It has still helped me to make changes just by acting as a reminder of why I want to succeed. I want to change my eating habits, and my relationship with food. Not as a quick fix or a way to lose weight fast, but as a better way to maintain my eating and lifestyle habits over time.

This past week I’ve done well. I slipped for a couple of days, I went a bit off track, as the car went into the garage, I couldn’t get to the gym and as a result my eating habits slipped too. But once we had the car back I went to the gym, and got back on track again. Since then I’ve had one day which wasn’t so good, but that was planned – I meet with a work friend once every 5-6 weeks and we make cakes. But I had a lighter lunch than usual to compensate a bit, and went to the gym the following morning. Other than that I’ve been fine. I have cereals for breakfast, a sandwich and fruit for lunch (or something similar) and something including veg / salad for tea. Then other than one cup of tea in the evening nothing else. I’m not too hungry, I don’t feel tempted to cheat, and it works for me.

And exercise is going well. I go Sunday, Tuesday, and usually Thursday or Friday evenings to the gym. I work hard – I run for 15 mins, I bike for 20 mins, do a few weights and do 15-20 minutes swimming. It’s my ‘me time’ and I see it as a pleasure, not a chore. I feel better for going. I’m not sure what will happen come march when I return to work 2.5 days – it’s harder to find time for me then as i will want to be with my girls as much as I can, but I guess I’ll tackle that when it comes to it.

And it’s working. I’ve lost 7 pounds so far. For me it’s more about my shape than weight, but I’m heading in the right direction at least! I haven’t seen much of a body change yet, but I know that I will. It’s not super fast – the last two weeks I’ve lost a pound each week – I find that a bit frustrating considering how many changes I’ve made for the better, but I guess slow and steady is much much better than nothing at all. And if my weight is going down it means my shape is changing too – much more important to me!

How is everyone else’s January weight loss going? What tips or advice do you have to keep weight off long term? Xxx

20140123-073917.jpg

Leave a Reply

