Quiche with tarragon crust..

20140202-214240.jpg

I love making quiche. My boyfriend isn’t that keen on it (he doesn’t like quiche generally, theres nothing wrong with my recipe!) so I don’t make it often, but I just love it. I don’t like the shop bought ones though, so when I make it it has to be home made. Especially because its so simple. It does take a bit of time, but there’s nothing complicated about it.

First, make the pastry. I make my own shortcrust pastry, but if you do have less time there’s nothing wrong with buying the ready made stuff. I added tarragon to it, just for a bit of extra flavour (and because I love tarragon!). I’m not going to give the recipe for pastry too as it can easily and quickly be found online.

Ingredients:
Short crust pastry (4oz roughly), but basically just enough to line the tin.

Filling:
4oz cooked ham (or bacon.)
3oz grated cheese – I use mature Cheddar as I like it strong.
2 medium eggs
1/4 milk

1. Heat oven to 190 degrees / gas mark 5.
2. Line a sandwich tin with pastry (make sure it is greased first.) cover with greaseproof paper, add baking balls and blind bake for 25 minutes.
3. When the pastry is ready, remove from oven and allow the pastry to cool.
4. Place half the cheese in the bottom of the pastry case, and cover with the ham.
5. Beat eggs and milk together, and pour over the cheese and bacon.
6. Add the remaining cheese.
7. Bake for around 40 minutes until set and golden brown.

Trust me, it’s gorgeous!
Xxx

One response to “Quiche with tarragon crust..

  1. This looks and sounds like its utterly divine! I must get myself in that kitchen again šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

