Ordinary moments – fake coughs

My baby is funny. She’s a quirky little thing, and in the past month her personality has started to emerge – shes developing little traits that are unique to her, and it’s lovely.

This week she’s learnt to laugh. But it isn’t as laugh as babies usually do – she fake coughs. She gets excited about something (usually being on her feet, or seeing us after her nap) and starts fake coughing in place of laughing.

I really love it – I can’t capture it with a photo, so I, afraid I can’t share it (I don’t know why but I don’t feel comfortable with sharing videos!) but I wanted to share anyway because I never want to forget this.

I’m back at work tomorrow -2.5 days a week, so we will have to find a new ordinary from tomorrow – I’m feeling a lot of feelings today – nerves etc. Mostly though I’ve been looking back on the past 11 months. I feel glad and lucky that I’ve had this time with my girls, and glad that we’ve enjoyed it. But I also feel a bit regretful that there have been days when I’ve found it hard, times when I’ve lost my temper, and times when I’ve felt upset. I wish I hadn’t, but I can’t go back now. I’ve loved every minute of being at home, even when it isn’t easy. I hope my girls know that, and know how much I love them.

If you want to join in with the ordinary moments you can join in at mummydaddyme – it’s all about capturing the ordinary moments in a week, and is my favourite Linky to join in with as I get to write about the ordinary moments that are the ones I want to remember as time goes by.

20140302-093942.jpg

13 responses to “Ordinary moments – fake coughs

  1. haha aww I love ti, Monkey used to fake cough a lot too – he realised that if he coughed/choked on a tiny bit of food, he got lots of attention, so he started fake coughing with a big grin n his face to get the same attention! Funny things but so lovely to see their personalities coming through isn’t it? xx #thordinarymoments

  2. I went back to work when my baby was 6 months old and the day before I started back I cried in his nursery as I wasn’t sure I was making the right decision. Fast forward to now and I know that I have! I do three days a week and I think it’s the perfect balance between adult time and mummy time. My little one also has a marvellous fake cough although he demonstrates it when someone else coughs around him. It’s very funny! Good luck with tomorrow! x

  3. So cute that she has a fake cough. I love that you wrote that for your ordinary moment. Missy Moo does the same thing. At first I thought she was actually coughing then I realized as she continued to do it over and over when she is playing with her brother or one of us. It’s so cute. Your little one is so cute! I can just picture her doing it. Good luck returning to work. It will be good to have a balance between the two work and family. #ordinarymoments

  4. Love the fake cough, so sweet!!
    Best of luck going back to work this week, I hope it all goes well for you all! xx

  5. Awww so cute, and weirdly enough Mads my big girl used to fake cough as well, you have just reminded me! LL my baby doesn’t do it! So sweet! x

  6. Oh that’s so sweet – Kitty used to fake cough too – it took us ages to work out she was just happy!

  7. I love this, it’s a nice reminder of what my little boy did as a baby. He’d fake cough just to get attention, and even now he still likes to join in when he hears someone else cough. A friend of mine calls it a “social cough”, which I think describes it quite well!

Leave a Reply

