Millionaires shortbread

20140308-193018.jpg

It was cake day today. Every few weeks I meet a work friend on a weekend, and we each make cake and have a catch up. And today was that day.

I love making new recipes, and this time I decided that I’d use the cookbook I got at Christmas, and make one of my favourite things – millionaires shortbread.

The result was gorgeous – the shortbread In this recipe was amazing – perfect shortbread. I was really happy with it. And the toffee was yummy too, although the measurements given in the book meant I made far far to much of it. However, I’ve kept the measurements the same as I didn’t want to risk it going wrong for someone else. When I make this again though I will halve the amount of toffee I make.

Without any further ado, here’s the recipe for how to make it (and I would recommend it!)

For the shortbread:
220gm butter
30grams icing sugar
80grams caster sugar
30gms cornflour
300gms plain flour

1. Heat oven to 160 degrees celcius.
2. Put the butter into a bowl and whisk until creamy (I used an electric whisk.)
3. Sift in the icing sugar and whisk in.
4. Add the caster sugar and beat well until the mixture is light and fluffy.
5. Sift in the cornflour and shock in.
6. Sift in the plain flour and mix with a wooden spoon until the mixture is crumbley.
7. Tip into a prepared tin (I used a tray bake tin) and press into the edges.
8. Prick all over with a fork, and bake for 35 minutes until pale golden.
9. Remove from oven and place whole tray on a cooling tray. Leave to cool completely before removing from the tray.

For the millionaires shortbread

Toffee:
225gms butter
115gms caster sugar
4 tablespoons golden syrup
1 tin of 397g condensed milk

1. Add all ingredients to a saucepan. Heat over a low heat to melt the butter.
2. When melted, heat up to boil while stirring constantly. When boiling, turn to a simmer and stir constantly for 3-5 minutes until it turns golden. Be careful not to leave to go too dark or it sets too hard to eat.
3. Pour over cold shortbread and spread evenly, then leave until cold (I found this complicated – it ran off a lot, I found it easier to leave the toffee to cool a bit and then put it on in layers. Might just be that I didn’t cook it quite enough though.)
4. Leave to cool completely.

When toffee is ready, melt 200gms chocolate (I used a cheap cooking milk chocolate) and spread over the toffee.

Eat.

It might look complicated but it’s not – it had a few steps and I did it in two nights, but the actual recipe worked really well, and even if you just make the shortbread its worth it, it was gorgeous.

Xxx

3 responses to “Millionaires shortbread

  1. Wow! What a stunning looking bake ! =)

  2. Pingback: Jam crumble shortbread | mylittledreamworld1's Blog

Leave a Reply

