Jam crumble shortbread

20140323-203327.jpg

After the success of making millionaires shortbread last week, this week we decided to try another recipe from the same cookbook. It’s quite similar, but is quicker and easier as it doesn’t have quite as many layers. And it was really, really yummy. I found that the millionaires shortbread has the edge slightly, but this one was great to bake with my 4.5 year old.

To make this, you first make the shortbread recipe. It’s a ratio of 1 butter, 2 sugar, 3 flour. So you can use any measurements you like within this ratio! We used:

100grams butter
200 grams sugar (divided into 20grams icing sugar, 80 grams caster sugar).
300 grams flour (divided into 50 grams cornflour, 250 grams plain flour.

For the top
Jam (I just used a cheap jam).
40grams flaked almonds, to add into the last quarter of the shortbread mixture.

1. Pre heat oven to 160 degrees Celsius.
2. First, I used an electric whisk to beat the butter until light and fluffy.
3. Next, add the sifted icing sugar and whisk again.
4. Add the caster sugar and whisk for a couple of minutes, until light and creamy.
5. Add the cornflour and whisk again.
6. Sift in the plain flour, and use a wooden spoon to mix until crumbley.
7. Add to tin ( I used a tray bake tin), keeping about a quarter of the mixture aside for the topping. Bake for 20 minutes.
8. 20 minutes in, take out the the oven and cool for ten minutes.
9. Add a layer of jam, and then sprinkle over the remaining mixture, with 40 grams flaked almonds mixed into them.
10. Bake again for around 30-35 minutes.
11. Remove from oven and allow to cool before removing them from the tin.
12. Enjoy 🙂

This recipe was In the great british bake off book, which I got for Xmas. I’ll be honest, and say that a lot of the recipes in the book are above my skill level / take more time than I have. But there are some in there which look achievable, and so far the two recipes I’ve tried have both worked really well. I love reading through recipe books too, I don’t know why, but I like this one because the pictures are so good, and it inspires me to try to be braver in what I try to bake!

Xxx

Leave a Reply

