The ordinary moments – writing

20140712-205608.jpg

I used to write about teaching my daughter to write quite often. But in the end it became stressful – it felt like I was forcing it rather than teaching her to enjoy it. So I stepped back and left her to lead what we did – and she didn’t choose to write. I had to trust that she would come back to it when she was ready.

And now she is. In the past three weeks she has got interested again. It started with her campaign about people dropping rubbish,which she made posters for. But since she seemed interested, I got her a phonics book for pre schoolers, with writing and activities. And we’ve built it back into the daily routine, in a relaxed way.

This is our current ordinary:
1. Rosie goes for her nap.
2. We get out the writing book (only if Amelia wants to though).
3 we do one page together at the table.
4. We find the stickers for each page when it is finished.
5. After the page, we will either do some colouring or writing in an exercise book.

It’s enjoyable, and a real pleasure to see Amelia taking an interest. She recognises almost all letters now, and now can write a fair few too. It only takes 10-20 minutes at most, but it’s something that we both are really enjoying at the moment. For me, it’s also bittersweet since I am very aware that I lose my afternoons with her in September. It already feels like a loss – I am so very envious of those who are able to homeschool as it is a dream I wish I could pursue but am not brave enough to take the risk.

Today she wrote ‘Amlia (love heart shape) mam.’ All by herself – I had no idea what she was writing. She practised a bit (on every page of an exercise book!) by herself but got there in the end. I was so very proud of her, and it made me smile a lot. I keep looking at this little bit of writing, and it makes me want to cry because it’s just so lovely.

I have joined in with http://www.mummydaddyandmemakesthree.co.uk – a wonderful linky about remembering the ordinary moments.

Xxx

20140712-205534.jpg

20140712-205617.jpg

20140712-205624.jpg

9 responses to “The ordinary moments – writing

  1. Ah bless her, it must make you feel so proud to see her writing. It sounds like a lovely part of your routine that you both enjoy. I need to sit and start to help my biggest girl do more but she is only just really starting to get interested into things like that. She also has a really short attention span! x

    • It does make me proud, but then I’ve always been proud 🙂 Maddy will start to write when she is ready too – I think I started too young with Amelia and that’s why it took longer in the long run. These things seem to happen when they are read to happen. Thank you for your comment xx

  2. Hi!

    I find it really interesting that you say you used to try to get her to write in the early days but it felt forced because that’s how I feel with a lot of things, but because I don’t have ANY experience with babies I never know if what I’m asking Gwenn to do is too much?

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who has felt this way.

    Gwenn isn’t anywhere near the writing stage but, for example, my mam will say to her “Gwenn, where’s your nose?” while pointing to her nose and I think “Oh my God, should she know all this by now?!?!” and totally panic 😉

    Visiting from The Ordinary Moments.

    xx

    • Thank you for your comment. I have worried about something at every age my daughter has been – when she was younger it was walking, then knowing her colours etc. As she has got older I have learnt to relax more – they really do get there In the end. It won’t seem two minutes until your daughter is starting school too, and you will look back and wonder why these things mattered so much, just like I do! Just enjoy her and give her lots of love, it’s all we can do as mums. Xxx

  3. Awww thats so nice and shes saying she loves you so much nicer! Ive been there too so many times before forcing my son with so many things like walking, potty training and yet at the end when he started doing these things he is so good that he looks like hes been doing it all his life. So i learned to wait for him to be ready. My son loves drawing more than writing but I cant wait too for when he is ready for this =) #ordinarymoments

    • Thank you – I’ve been learning it too – they all do these things in the end anyway. I think there’s a lot of pressure (from nursery for example) to be writing kids, but if they’re not ready it cant be forced. Thank you for your comment xx

  4. How lovely! It must be wonderful to see her take to it because she wants to. The pressure to do and know all sorts of things is so huge, isn’t it. At first I worried about it, but now I actually get quite defensive on behalf of my son when people ask about whether he’s doing X, Y or Z yet. No, he’ll learn in his own sweet time, and probably enjoy it more to boot! Good for you for having the courage to step back x

  5. Aww bless her – such a clever girl, and so lovely that it came from her rather than being something she was asked to do!

Leave a Reply

