Baking – the don’ts.

I love to bake. I’m not a master baker (or anything close!) and have only been baking for about 18 months now. Not every week, but when I can.

I’ve had a few disasters along the way, and thought I’d share my lessons.

1. Cook for the time stated. Don’t do what I did with a pineapple upside down cake and decide that it looks done with 10 minutes left on the instructions. It was a messy result, and couldn’t be rescued. The mixture wasn’t cooked inside, and it dripped everywhere when I turned it out.

2. Make sure you have the right ingrediants. Sounds obvious, but today I made a Swiss roll, and realised after whipping the egg whites and yolks that I don’t have plain flour to sift in. I think I’ve rescued it with using cocoa powder instead, but it was a silly mistake to make.

3. Don’t get over confident. I got good at cookies, and so I thought I was an expert at them. I tried to show off by making a giant Millie’s cookie type thing. It didn’t work, at all. It taught me not to try to bake above my ability level.

4. Look for recipes that suit your life. Don’t try to make a really time consuming recipe when you don’t have the time.

5. If baking with kids, stick to something they can help with. When I’m baking with my daughter, I stick to fairy cakes as she loves decorating them, scones, jam tarts or brownies. I save the recipes I haven’t tried before for when I’m on my own – if they work, I can try them with her once I know the recipe well.

Xxx

Leave a Reply

