Blueberry jam and cream Swiss roll

20140813-193252.jpg

Today, in acknowledgement of my favourite programme (Great British Bake Off) I made a Swiss roll. It went well – I was really pleased with the way it looked and tasted too. I would say that it’s relatively easy to make – a little fiddley in places, and very hard to make ‘perfect’ but I do think that anyone can make one.

I used the recipe from one of my cookbooks (the hummingbird bakery cookbook) but adapted the filling as I wanted something a little bit different.

Here’s what I did.

Ingrediants:
4 eggs (separated into whites and yolks).
180grams caster sugar.
120grams plain flour.
3/4 teaspoon baking powder.
Icing sugar to dust.
Blueberry jam (half a jar)
Double cream (about a quarter or a tub).

1. Preheat the oven to 180degrees Fahrenheit / gas mark 4. Line a Swiss roll tin ( I used a rectangular baking tray with sides) with greaseproof paper.

2. Whisk the egg whites at high speed until stiff – they triple in size and are stiff. It took me around about 4 minutes. Set aside.

3. Whisk the egg yolks at high speed until pale in another bowl. Gradually add the caster sugar, and mix until pale and fluffy.

4. Sift the flour, baking powder and salt. Add the sifted ingredients to the egg yolks and fold in. Then fold in the egg whites into the yolk mixture.

5. Pour into your tray, trying to keep it even. Bake for 10-15 minutes until golden brown. Mine took ten minutes.

6. While baking, I put a large rectangle of greaseproof paper onto the side (bigger than the Swiss roll tray) and sprinkled it with caster sugar.

7. When the sponge is ready, loosen the edges around the baking tray and invert the sponge onto the paper.

8. At the narrow edge, roll he sponge and the paper together. Let cool seam side down for 10-15 minutes.

9. Once cooled, unroll, peel off the paper and add the filling. I had pre prepared my jam by mixing to loosen it, whisking up double cream and mixing it into the jam. I really liked this, it worked well.

10. Roll back up, and dust with icing sugar.

I hope you enjoy. I will definitely make this recipe again, I really enjoyed making it. And my family really enjoyed it with custard as a pudding after tea.

Xxx

20140813-194909.jpg

20140813-194920.jpg

2 responses to “Blueberry jam and cream Swiss roll

  1. Yummy! That looks scrumptious as Mary Berry would say. So what biscuits do you fancy making? We love cookies in our house and gingerbread biscuits at Christmas. Happy baking xx

    • Thank you, it was good šŸ™‚ I’m not sure – I make cookies quite often, I’m thinking I might have a go at crackers this week as I’ve never made them before, and we do like crackers. Or possibly something made with gingerbread. Lots of options xx

Leave a Reply

