Yummy food.

20140815-121438.jpg

20140815-121428.jpg

Last night for tea, I had run out of potatoes and sweet potatoes, the two things that I tend to use alongside all of my meals. It got me a bit stuck! But then, it made me more creative with the things I did have, so in the end it was a positive.

In the end I made fishcake a (frozen ones, too time consuming to make fresh) with roasted butternut squash, a bubble and squeak thing made from leftover mash, broccoli and a bit of cheese, and sweetcorn and peas.

The roasted butternut squash is something I haven’t tried before, and it was gorgeous, as well as being simple. To make it I peeled the butternut squash (that was the hardest bit!) then sliced it down the middle, scooped out the seeds etc, and cut it into cubes.

I then out it onto a tray Lined with greaseproof paper, with oil on top of the paper, added a teaspoon of garlic (I always have the pre chopped garlic in a jar in the fridge as it lasts months), mixed it all together so that the oil covered all of the squash, and roasted it for about 40 minutes at 200 degrees, turning them twice in between cooking to ensure they cooked evenly. That’s it.

The feedback was really good from all of my family – it tastes very similar to sweet potato and is a recipe I will definitely be making again.

For the bubble and squeak thing, I literally just mixed my leftover mash and broccoli together (cold) together with a handful of cheese, rolled into four balls, squashed them down and fried them in oil in a frying pan for about 5 minutes each side, until there was a good colour in the outside and the cheese had melted. They were yummy, Amelia really enjoyed hers especially, and the kids happily ate the broccoli!

I just thought I would share, as we enjoyed both so much that I am sure they will become regulars on our menu, and if it gives someone else something to try it’s all good. I love coming across new ideas for us.

Xxx

20140815-121448.jpg

Leave a Reply

