Remember Me by Lesley Pearse

The Blurb

In 1786 a fisherman’s daughter from Cornwall called Mary Broad was sentenced to be hung for theft. But her sentence was commuted, and she was transported to Australia, one of the first convicts to arrive there.

How Mary escaped the harsh existence of the colony and found true love, and how she was captured and taken back to London in chains, only to be released after a trial where she was defended by no less than James Boswell, is one of the most gripping and moving stories of human endeavour (based on an amazing true story) you will ever read.

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed this book. It is based on a true story, and parts of it disturbed me so much that I have spent a lot of time thinking about them since. For me, a good book is one which will stay with me, and parts of this will. I can’t talk too much about which bits without giving too much away, but I’ll just say that there is  heartbreak and tragedy within the story.

I liked the main character – the author has written her cleverly, and made her likeable, strong and resourceful. I thought some of the other characters were sometimes a bit vague, and faded out of the story a bit fast without much further thought. I suppose part of that is because there are a large number of ‘extra’ characters in the book – too many in a way as it means they all get a bit confusing.

Best Bits…

I liked the main character – the author has written her cleverly, and made her likeable, strong and resourceful. I had a lot of empathy with / sympathy for, and I wish I knew more about her life after the story was finished. Mary made this story into something special.

I liked the way that the realities of the colonies in Australia was written. Now, it’s easy to see those who were transported as lucky to have landed somewhere so beautiful, but this book shows how awful it was in the beginning, and how difficult things were in great detail. It also all came across as very ‘real’ – although the details of the reality will never be known, I felt that this story is probably something close to the reality.

The Bad Bits…

I thought some of the other characters were sometimes a bit vague, and faded out of the story a bit fast without much further thought. I suppose part of that is because there are a large number of ‘extra’ characters in the book – too many in a way as it means they all get a bit confusing.

Other than this, overall I really did enjoy this book and will look for others by this author – it is not what I expected when I picked it, and some parts of it will remain in my mind for a long time to come.

4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

