The Martian book review..

Untitled

The Blurb

I’m stranded on Mars.

I have no way to communicate with Earth.

I’m in a Habitat designed to last 31 days.

If the Oxygenator breaks down, I’ll suffocate. If the Water Reclaimer breaks down, I’ll die of thirst. If the Hab breaches, I’ll just kind of explode. If none of those things happen, I’ll eventually run out of food and starve to death.

So yeah. I’m screwed.

My Thoughts

This is not the usual type of book I would be drawn to, but I loved the ‘matter of fact’ description in the blurb, and it just called to me. It’s part of the Richard and Judy book club – I don’t read all of the selection but I choose the ones that appeal, and this one did.

I liked a lot about this book. I liked the style of writing – I liked the narrator and I enjoyed the story and the way in which far fetched scenarios seemed entirely believable. It also all seemed very scientific and well researched.

I was just looking for quotes, but to be honest there’s nothing that is in a bite sized chunk to give you a sample. The writing is so straight forward and logical, because the main character is that way. It’s a positive thing – he is as he is.

The not so good

There’s only one thing I wasn’t keen on in this book. And that’s the lack of any emotion. None of the characters ever have much of an In depth or meaningful converations. I think that that is the one thing missing. I do understand that the main character uses humour rather that emotion, but there are other characters – I would expect to get a bit more from them but it all seems a bit superficial.

And – slight spoiler here – I hated the e-mails sent to and from the other crew members. I thought they were rubbish for the reasons above. It was just too shallow.

Overall

Overall I would recommend this book. It’s a good read and I can imagine reading and enjoying it again at some point. And I love the fact that the author – Andy Weir – originally self published it as his first Novel before it being a success and then taken on by a publishing house. I liked that he has had that kind of success and that this has been recognised as a good read.

Overall then – 4 stars out of 5. Recommended.

Leave a Reply

