The Memory Book by Rowan Coleman.

51Y0xHUdgsL__SL500_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-big,TopRight,35,-73_OU02_AA300_

I am enjoying reviewing the books I have read lately – it gives me chance to reflect on the book a little more before moving on.

The Blurb

When time is running out, every moment is precious…


When Claire starts to write her Memory Book, she already knows that this scrapbook of mementoes will soon be all her daughters and husband have of her. But how can she hold onto the past when her future is slipping through her fingers…?

My Thoughts

The blurb doesn’t give much away does it. It is basically about a lay with early onset Alzheimer’s disease, and it records some of her journey.

I thought that this was a lovely book – it did touch a chord with me as I work with people with dementia and so I have met a lot of people and families on this journey already. I really liked Claire as the narrator – I loved that she is captured as a ‘real’ person and not just as someone who has been diagnosed with dementia. I also like how she doesn’t just maintain the relationships she has, but that they also grow and change, as do all things in life.

This book is so easy to read – the narrative is simple and straightforward. But the messages under the easy reading are difficult ones, and challenge readers to think about their values and the way they think about dementia. It challenges that dementia always has to disenable people – it shows that it is an awful and scary illness for everyone, but also that good things can still come from it.

‘ And now I know that I can hope, and I know that I will go on hoping, always hoping, that she will come back to me, one last time.’

‘I promise you, the world might crumble away around you, your brain and body might betray you, but your heart, your spirit…that is what will stay true.’

The not so good

In all honesty I don’t really have anything that I didn’t like. I liked everything – its just a lovely book to read. It is not a book that I would read again for a good while I think, but it is a book where the message will stay with me.

4 stars.

One response to “The Memory Book by Rowan Coleman.

  1. This sounds like my kinda book. I’ve added to my list 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

